taco torte + green chile queso

For two and a half days last week, I babysat my sister’s three adorable children (ages 4 and under). Let me tell you: it was a crazy ride! Thank goodness, they are well-behaved and generally extremely obedient and also on the quieter, peaceful side, so it was actually kind of fun being “mom” for a few days. On the other hand, I didn’t do much cooking, because my sister had her menu planned and food provided.

However, on Friday, the evening my sister and her husband returned from a birthday trip in DC, I made a spicy Mexican fiesta to celebrate my brother-in-law’s birthday. My sister doesn’t cook spicy very often because of her kids, so this was apparently a treat.

My menu included a taco torte (Mexican lasagna) from Smitten Kitchen and a deliciously creamy and very spicy homemade green chile queso from How Sweet It Is. We threw chips, pico de gallo, and guacamole into the mix as well, not to mention the margaritas…it was quite the meal. Both the torte and the queso deserve a mention in this post, as they were delectable and will definitely be reappearing on our table at some point!

Taco Torte

Green Chile Queso

Note: I used 6″ corn tortillas to make my torte, and placed the stacks side-by-side in a glass 13×9″ baking dish lined with foil. It worked perfectly, and served four hungry adults with plenty to spare.

2 thoughts on “taco torte + green chile queso

  1. I really enjoyed the torte!! (the green chile queso was *almost* too spicy for me!) We had the leftovers as a family lunch on Sunday, and there was still enough for Greg to take to work on Monday – great amount! These recipes made for a wonderful birthday fiesta! =)

Leave a Reply

