there will be light

We are winding down day six of this cleanse. It has been a tough row to hoe. I really didn’t think I would say that! I mean, I’m a foodie, but…it’s just food. And it’s only 10 days. Really, how bad could this be?

Well, pretty bad.

On Saturday, Joshua and I were staring at each other, just reeling off all the things we were craving. Burgers, cheese, ice cream, pasta, rice, coffee, wine, cocktails…the list was kind of endless. And that was only day three!

No meal felt satisfying.

We were full, we didn’t need to eat more. We just weren’t satisfied.

And then on Sunday, we were kind of dragging all day. We helped a family move in the morning, which  took two hours, and I felt so worn out at the end of it. I didn’t even really do any heavy lifting, but for the rest of the day, I felt like I just needed to sit down. Standing up was work. All my bones felt tired. And achy.

Monday was day five, the start of the hardest days of the cleanse (with regard to food). More restrictions, more limitations. Lots of apples and beans and spinach, not a lot of anything else. Oh, except Metagenics protein powder. <gag> The berry one is not bad! But when you have two scoops four times a day………… And on top of that, more aching. Joshua said he felt like he had the flu, and I was like, “That’s good! That means it’s working!”, because that’s what they tell us. And I do believe that. We couldn’t feel like this and it not be doing anything. Right? Right???? Right.

My mom suggested we take an epsom salt bath to help draw out the impurities, and I abhor baths. I really hate them. It’s totally a mental thing, but I have a real aversion to the feel of a bath. Guess what I was doing on Monday night?

So yeah. The cleanse has pushed us to our limits in some ways. We had big plans of doing half-workouts for the week of the cleanse, but we quickly threw that out, once we realized what this was doing to us.

Today, we feel better. Maybe it’s the bath, maybe it’s that the toxins are almost out of our systems, who knows. More importantly, and more apropos to the subject matter of this blog, we are having one of my favorite recipes tonight, with only a few minor tweaks. Spiced Indian Lentils. Instead of serving them in tacos, as I usually do on Taco Tuesday, I’m doing a roasted cauliflower base. Most of the meals we’ve eaten during this cleanse have been very simple and usually just one dish.

So that’s where we are! Don’t think that the cleanse is horrible – it’s not, it’s just harder than I thought it would be. But we will survive! And in the meantime…

…dreaming of waffles.

Leave a Reply

