the nine days [2015]: day 5

As we have finished dinner by now, I can tell you that it was amazing. You kind of have to be into lentils, though. Are you into lentils? You should be into lentils.

I happened to spot this interesting-looking Indian taco recipe recently, and thought it would be perfect to tuck into our vegetarian week. Love a little food fusion, right?

Right off the bat, you need to know that the intense spices and flavors in the lentils are kind of what makes the dish. They have ginger, garlic, turmeric, coriander, cumin, curry, and jalapeño. I’m sure you could cut some of those out, but the lentils really benefit from the marriage of all of them put together.

Also – and this is the best part – the lentils are done in the slow cooker! I am gone all afternoon on Tuesdays, and I just popped the lentils in the crockpot before I left, and came home to find my lentils perfectly cooked and sitting on the warm setting. Amazing!

But not only that, the tacos were delicious. And Joshua and I agreed that it would be easy to eat this out of a bowl, instead of a tortilla, too. I served mashed avocado w/ lime, fresh mango, plain yogurt, and pickled red onions as toppings. Truly delightful, and definitely on the list to make again (so easy!!).

P.S. – and maybe that’s how I’ll be cooking my lentils from now on!

http://www.momskitchenhandbook.com/recipes-2/slow-cooker-indian-tacos/

One thought on “the nine days [2015]: day 5

  1. Pingback: there will be light | Feeding Joshua

Leave a Reply

