the nine days [2015]: day 1

Hello! Guess what? It’s been a year! A whole year since I posted on this blog. Last you heard from me, it was the Nine Days, and I was cooking meatless meals. And would you believe it – here we are again, meatless meals and all. Perhaps I will post a little more frequently this coming year…we’ll see. I certainly haven’t stopped cooking, so it should be easy to share awesome meals with you.

This year, the first day of the Nine Days (today), is Friday, which means our dinner tonight can contain meat, because it’s Shabbat (refer back to last year’s post on how our mourning is suspended on Shabbat). We can, of course, continue to do so all day tomorrow until sundown, and we happen to be having dinner with family tomorrow evening, so there will not be a post about Day 2. And for Day 3, we will be eating out at a restaurant, which I think is a totally awesome option, if you can afford to do so – kind of a nice treat! Vegetarian pasta is always a great choice, but so is a vegetarian pizza. Nothing wrong with cheese! So we’ll see you back here for Day 4 (Monday).

In the meantime, let me leave you with this wholesome salmon recipe we’ll be enjoying tonight. As was the case last year, I have not tested most of the recipes I will be cooking this week, so we can do that together. This salmon recipe uses pesto, which is a great way to use up any green (but especially basil) from your garden, and string beans (which I am growing), plus cherry tomatoes (which I am *also* growing!). It’s like a win-win-win.

http://www.cookingclassy.com/2015/07/pesto-salmon-and-italian-veggies-in-foil/

Leave a Reply

