ginger and turmeric honey bomb

I don’t know why I got sick in what was almost summer. Who does that? Aren’t we only supposed to get sick in the winter? I don’t know what caused it, but I started sliding down hill and THIS. This is what helped take me right back up again, within two days.

Our Indian store carries fresh turmeric, which is a G-d-send. You can use dried ground turmeric in this recipe, which I have done before, but I love the fresh. It also turns everything a beautiful orangey-yellow color, which helps you think sunny thoughts while sick. 🙂

You can also use dried ground ginger, but fresh is, again, so much better.

I would get out my box grater and grate down a finger or two of turmeric and a knob of ginger and scrape it all into a jar of honey. A few turns of freshly ground black pepper, and then a spoonful into hot tea. Ahhhhhh.

Of course, that’s the best way for a winter cold. For a summer cold, I stirred a few heaping spoonfuls of honey bomb into warm-hot tea, and then stuck it into the refrigerator to cool down a bit. Then I poured the whole thing into a quart-size Mason jar over ice, and filled the rest of the jar with club soda. With a straw? I kind of LIKED being sick…

Ok, maybe not so much. But I loved drinking that turmeric honey “soda” so much, I continued after I got well.

http://www.greenkitchenstories.com/ginger-turmeric-honey-bomb/

One thought on “ginger and turmeric honey bomb

Leave a Reply

