Almond Dutch Baby

I never heard the term “Dutch baby” growing up. And really, isn’t that kind of an odd name for a puff pancake? Is that what Dutch children look like when they’re born? I think not. So I don’t get that. If someone has the etymology handy, do enlighten me.

This recipe is almost certainly better with butter, but I used coconut oil, and it worked fine. It got golden and puffy, just like it’s supposed to, and then deflated in that rather disappointing way that Dutch babies do.

I remember the puff pancakes of my childhood – puffed, golden brown, and crisp around the edges. Crisp and buttery. I can taste it right now. Yum. This was not like that, and that’s sad. I will have to find the old recipe and try to make it again, gluten-free. That may be another factor here.

In the meantime, this is quite a good Dutch baby. I didn’t make it with such a strong almond flavor, because I haven’t purchased almond extract yet and I don’t have slivered almonds. Instead, I emphasized the lemon with extra lemon zest. It was tasty. 🙂

http://www.pbs.org/food/fresh-tastes/almond-dutch-baby/

P.S. – the nice thing about Dutch babies is that they’re mostly egg, so you can eat as much as you want. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

