Braised Coconut Spinach & Chickpeas with Lemon

Any recipe that uses FOUR CLOVES of garlic and a three-inch piece of fresh ginger has got my attention. Also, I love chickpeas. I really should start cooking my own. Hm. Maybe sometime further on up the road. Back to this chickpea spinach lemon thing.

I would kind of call this a chickpea curry, except it doesn’t use curry spices. In fact, it doesn’t use any odd spices, like cumin or curry or turmeric (I like all of those, just saying). It has the clean, fresh flavors of garlic, ginger, and lemon, paired with a little heat from some red pepper flakes. It’s totally great, and quite easy.

I’ve never understood recipes that call for a pound of fresh spinach, when everyone knows that fresh spinach comes in 6 oz. bags. What – I’m supposed to by THREE of them?! I don’t think so. I just used one, and I was quite happy with the amount of spinach in my chickpeas. In fact, mine looked almost exactly like theirs. SO THERE.

This recipe paired super-well with the amazing eggplant recipe I’m posting tomorrow. Stay tuned. šŸ™‚

http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-braised-coconut-spinach-chickpeas-with-lemon-164551

Leave a Reply

