Thai Coconut Corn & Mushroom Soup

We are currently celebrating the festival of Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles, anyone?) – an eight-day-long Biblically mandated holiday taking place in the fall, in which we build temporary structures in our backyards and dwell in them (this ranging from actually sleeping in them to having meals in them to sitting in them and reading books to praying in them). I know you’re wondering what this has to do with Thai soup.

My parents always host a party during the festival, which they named the “Soup & Sukkah” party. Everyone comes and brings a soup, and we all get to have bowls of various soups. It’s fun. 🙂

This year is my first married Sukkot, which means I had to make my own soup and bring it to my parents’ house, rather than watch my mom make hers and help her setup for the party. Different dynamic.

And my soup needed to be dairy-free, because we are.

This Thai soup had caught my eye, so I made that and brought it. I didn’t quite make it like Bev…I didn’t have any Thai curry paste, and I couldn’t find any without gluten in it, so I kind of added ingredients that were in it (flavors, at least), and hoped that would fly. I would do more ginger next time. I skipped the cilantro and chiles for garnish (I know – <gasp!), and instead used some of the Burmese chile-garlic hot sauce I made a few weeks ago. That stuff is crazy hot. Maybe the recipe will be up here at some point.

Anyway, it was a good soup and one I’ve been given permission to make again, but it’s always the truest test of any soup if there is any left over after the Soup & Sukkah party. And there was of this one. That may or may not have been because it was good or bad – some people just don’t like Thai food. If you do – this soup is for you!

http://bevcooks.com/2013/08/thai-coconut-corn-and-mushroom-soup/

Leave a Reply

