Raw Cashew Dreamcake

To go along with my pulled pot roast sandwiches, I made a raw vegan cake. It was made out of the usual suspects: cashews, walnuts, and dates.

Quite frankly, it’s not what I expected (read, wanted). I wanted CHEESECAKE. I don’t know why I thought this would be cheesecake, especially when you store it in the freezer, but I I did, and it wasn’t.

However, if you let it sit out of the refrigerator for an hour-and-a-half to two hours, it returns to its former creamy glory. I like it much better that way than thirty minutes out of the freezer, when it is still hard and icy, kind of like an ice cream cake.

Joshua avers that the flavors are more poignant when it’s softer, too.

It wasn’t my favorite, so I can’t highly recommend it. But if you need a relatively easy raw and/or vegan cake, here’s one!

http://www.mynewroots.org/site/2011/01/raw-cashew-dreamcake-2/

Leave a Reply

