Vegan Fettuccine Alfredo

Living dairy-free for the past two months has actually not been that bad. We have one more month to go, and I’ve kind of gotten used to it. The one thing I really, really miss is cheese. Thick slices of cheddar. Feta crumbled over just about everything. Pizza. Grilled cheese. Soft, French cheeses with honey and fruit. Creamy, satisfying pasta dishes. That’s been tough. But it’s all good – it just makes me look forward to my anniversary (when we’re getting off this stringent diet) that. much. more.

So fettuccine alfredo has always been a deep love of mine. I don’t eat it often – rarely, in fact, because it’s so fattening. All that milk. That cream. That cheese.

HOWEVER!

There is now an answer to all of these objections, and this recipe will be in my monthly repertoire, I think. Why not?

It uses an avocado to mimic the creamy texture of alfredo sauce. And, since avocados have very mild flavor, it uses garlic and lemon to mimic the signature taste of alfredo sauce. Since avocado is one of the top (if not THE top) fiber-packed foods out there, how could we turn down avocado-slathered penne? I ask you.

Caveat: you do have to just get over the fact that it’s green. I will admit that one of the allures of fettuccine alfredo is the creamy whiteness of it all. But hey. If I can get the closest thing to it, and it’s green, so be it. As we all know, it’s not easy being green.

For this recipe, I used an old, lone avocado that had been hanging around my refrigerator for a while – soft, but not rotten. That’s something that makes this EVEN BETTER. It’s like you get to use up ingredients you have laying around, instead of going to buy new ones! Also, it helps if you have a basil plant for the fresh basil.

http://ohsheglows.com/2011/01/31/15-minute-creamy-avocado-pasta/

P.S. – gluten-free if you use gluten-free pasta!

Leave a Reply

