Almond Flour Biscuits

I don’t know about you, but I absolutely love biscuits. Being gluten-free, biscuits are one of the things I miss the most. And let’s be honest: there is no replacement in the gluten-free world. Some things come close, but as you know, I’m also dairy-free right now, and a dairy-free biscuit is an oxymoron. Meet JewHungry‘s Almond Flour Biscuits.

These totally saved my day. If you eat gluten, close the browser right now and return to your magical life. If, however, you are missing biscuits in your life, stick with me. πŸ™‚

The biscuits are made with almond flour (I used almond meal, worked fine), with a handful of other normal ingredients. They do call for an Earth Balance-type non-dairy butter spread, but I used coconut oil, and I love the flavor. I must have made mine a bit smaller than she did, because I got a full two dozen. I promptly stuck most of them in the freezer after they had cooled, and I love pulling out a few, wrapping them in tin foil, and sticking them in a 350-degree oven for 20-30 minutes for breakfast. Almond flour and coconut oil and four eggs means these are packed with protein, as opposed to carbs, and will help keep you full and satisfied for a good portion of your busy morning. Love. That.

Did I mention they are barely sweet, with only two tablespoons of honey in the entire batch? You obviously need these in your gluten-free, dairy-free, dessert wilderness of a life.

http://jewhungry.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/gluten-free-biscuits-love-goes-gluten-free/

P.S. – if you have the time to read the cute love story in the accompanying post, it’s worth it!

2 thoughts on “Almond Flour Biscuits

Leave a Reply

