Grilled Beetroot & Feta Burgers

I have this unquenchable thirst for beet burgers. This insatiable desire to find one that actually holds together pretty well and satisfies the way a burger should (or, as close as a vegetarian burger can get). My last foray into this realm was not successful, although tasty, and when I saw that Green Kitchen Stories had a beet burger going on their blog, I knew I needed to try it. This could be the one.

It might still be the one. I guess I won’t know for sure until I try enough beet burgers to know that this one held together better than the rest. It did, for the most part. We tried flipping them on the grill, as per the recipe instructions, and that flopped. Fortunately, there were enough burgers to spare some for crumbs.

We put them on the grill on a doubled sheet of aluminum foil, greased. As we ended up not flipping them, it was relatively easy letting them sit there for about 10 minutes. Their practically vegan, so the only thing that needed to cook was the egg. That shouldn’t take long.

Also, my husband and I are off gluten and dairy now, so I used tofu as a substitute for feta. Feta definitely would have been tastier, saltier, and downright better. Next time!

I would recommend these. I really would. They also made quite a few – I think we got nine, all told. That means we ate them for two days, I sent one with Joshua to work for lunch, and we still have four in the freezer for an easy weeknight meal. Gotta love it.

http://www.greenkitchenstories.com/grilled-beet-burgers/

P.S. – absolutely LOVE how the burgers are made with raw beets. Cuts way down on the time factor!!

Leave a Reply

