Bean Bowls with Poached Egg

So I know that sounds kind of boring. Well, maybe it sounds boring to me because I’m about to eat salmon…salmon is exciting. Did any of you see that Top Chef episode where they went to Alaska and had to pick out their own salmon and filet it themselves, and that one contestant picked the type of salmon that Alaskans usually feed to their dogs? I did. Salmon is exciting.

ANYWAY. Back to the point. We’re not talking about salmon here, and we probably won’t, because I’m throwing some salt and pepper on that beautiful piece of fish, sautéing it in my cast iron, and throwing it in the oven for a few minutes. End of post. So there’s no need to post on that.

The bean bowls, on the other hand, were my answer to a slightly more rushed evening, when I wanted a one bowl meal. I really like one bowl meals. So easy.

I based it on this post, from Sprouted Kitchen, but I didn’t do it quite like that. I chose to roast my sweet potato cubes in the oven (425 degrees until fork-tender), because I like it when they get dark brown / black and caramelized on their undersides. I don’t know about boiled sweet potatoes.

I also used canned beans. I know – I’m such a loser. I need to get into that whole dried bean thing, but not here in this apartment. Maybe next week, when we move. I heated them and stirred in the spices and tomato paste. It worked well.

And then I stirred together my roasted sweet potatoes and beans, and topped it with one or two poached eggs and a dollop of that amazing Homemade Spicy Ketchup (can’t get enough of that stuff – have you noticed I put it on EVERYTHING? I do not put normal ketchup on ANYTHING).

Also, much as I would have loved a sprinkling of cotija, queso fresco, or feta, I had to do without. My husband has decided that we’re going to go on a stringent diet for the next three months. Namely, we’re off dairy, gluten, caffeine, and alcohol. I’m used to being off gluten, but I’m missing my cheese. A lot.

It’s ok, though. I’ll live. 🙂

Leave a Reply

