Roasted Strawberry Buttermilk Cake

First, before we get to the cake, I have to vent. Prepare for a rant.

So WHAT IS THE DEAL with EVERYONE making popsicles and ice cream?!?! You might think I’m kidding, but I’m not. I’m dead serious. Does no one eat DINNER during the summer?! I don’t have an ice cream maker and I don’t much care for popsicles. So these posts, which are coming at me from PRETY MUCH EVERY BLOG I READ? Uselessness. I can’t understand why no one is posting anything about real meals.

And if they are, it’s some kind of buttery, creamy, fresh mussel/clam/crab/lobster dish I can’t eat. So thanks, bloggers. Thanks for nothing.

<deep breath> Ok, we’re done with that. Moving on to cake.

You’d think that would be a much happier subject, but it’s not. I didn’t like this cake. This cake was not good.

I made it with very few variations, but it was dry and kind of tasteless. At its best moment, it was reminiscent of strawberry shortcake, and that’s cool, but only topped with vanilla ice cream, and lot’s of it. I don’t care for cake you have to top with ice cream.

There are many reasons why the cake may have slid down the slippery slope of Flopsies. I baked it in advance, two days before we had it and, although I kept it tightly wrapped in plastic, it may have dried out. We also had to transport it up to my grandparents’ house, and it may have baked out in our car on the way for three-and-a-half hours. Or the gluten-free flour could have struck again. Or I could have overcooked it (not likely).

Anyway, if you attempt it, you may have better results, but I cannot recommend it.

http://joythebaker.com/2012/05/roasted-strawberry-buttermilk-cake/

Leave a Reply

