Cheese & Onion Tart

Disclaimer: the original name of this recipe was Blarney Cheese & Onion Tart, but I couldn’t find Blarney cheese, so I improvised with baby Swiss. Which I didn’t come up with myself (I told you I wasn’t creative) – they suggest that in the recipe. You need this in your life.

Remember all of those onions I got? This used up two of the biggest – major score.

Also, this is a bit of a labor of love. The crust takes time to make, to chill, to cook, to cool. The onions wallow in a pan for what seems like HOURS to get that perfect caramelization going on. And then the whole thing has to bake.

So maybe make this for something of a special occasion. Weekend brunch with friends. A birthday. Bringing lunch to a pregnant woman. St. Patrick’s Day.

Except don’t wait until St. Patrick’s Day to make this. You will not be forgiven for that.

I made the crust with gluten-free all-purpose flour and it was AMAZING. Joshua said he couldn’t believe it was gluten-free and, quite frankly, neither could I. So flaky and perfect. I didn’t roll it out, because gluten-free crusts are too delicate for that, but it was easy to press it in and up the sides of a pan.

Speaking of which – who has an 11″ tart pan? Can I see a show of hands? I’m betting Aran Goyoaga has one. Maybe Beatrice Peltre, too. But not I. So you can probably guess which pan I used for my tart. Yep. My 9″ springform. And it was GLORIOUS. Who needs all of these special pan sizes, anyway!?

Also, the crust uses sour cream, and the filling uses half-and-half. I do not regularly keep either on hand, but I happened to have sour cream. So I mixed about a quarter cup of sour cream of milk to equal a full cup of…richer milk? I just mention that to make things easier on you – buy one ingredient, instead of two. But if you have both on hand, go for it. Whatever.

http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/1994/03/blarney_cheese_and_onion_tart

Joshua says: 10 out of 10 with no reservations. Shocker. You’d think there would be *something* wrong with it…

P.S. – isn’t it kind of cool that this recipe is from the 1994 issue of Bon Appetit magazine?! What goes around comes around!

Leave a Reply

