Homemade Spicy Ketchup

It all started with a bag of onions. A ten-pound bag of onions. My mom asked me to bring some onions over for a canning project we were going to do together, and I was at Costco, so I grabbed them there. Well, my mom only needed like five or so, and that left me with…eight, I think. Or nine. And that started some pretty dedicated research in my recipe files for all things onion. I have a few more things up my sleeve, but this ketchup used an entire onion, and that was a great place to start.

This is yet another recipe from the incredible Joy the Baker. I’m really happy with the results, although it’s not smooth and creamy and shiny like regular ketchup (which I kind of love about it). I made it just as she suggests, with a full teaspoon of red pepper flakes, and I do not find it too spicy for my liking, and Joshua did not complain about the heat, which he tends to do when things pack a punch. So Joy is absolutely right, the spice does mellow after cooling.

I think I’ll be eating this on everything. Burgers? Check. Salmon burgers? Check. Fries? Check. The barbecue quinoa salad I’m making tonight? Check. Hot dogs, if I ever eat them? Check. Makeshift salsa? Check.

Why buy ketchup in the grocery store ever again?

http://joythebaker.com/2013/07/homemade-spicy-ketchup/

Joshua says: like I said, he really liked it, but it’s a condiment. Can we really give a condiment a rating? I don’t think so. It’s not like we’re drinking shotglasses of the stuff. Although…

5 thoughts on “Homemade Spicy Ketchup

  1. Pingback: Summer BBQ Quinoa Salad | Feeding Joshua

  2. Pingback: Cheese & Onion Tart | Feeding Joshua

  3. Pingback: Crispy Fish Sticks | Feeding Joshua

  4. Pingback: Bean Bowls with Poached Egg | Feeding Joshua

  5. Pingback: Crispy Polenta Potatoes | Feeding Joshua

Leave a Reply

