Deodorant

So let’s talk about DIY. Make-it-yourself. Is it better? Healthier? Cheaper? I have a recipe for making my own laundry detergent, and it’s fantastic, makes a ton, and is way cheaper. Of course, DIY usually means it’s cheaper when you buy the ingredients in bulk and the recipe only uses small amounts. Right now, I don’t have the room, but I will soon! We’re moving to a house in less than a month. (!) (!) Anyway. So how do we feel about making our own deodorant?

There was a time in my not-too-distant past when I couldn’t even say the word ‘deodorant’ without cringing or swallowing the word ever-so-slightly. I would use evasive words like ‘personal hygiene’ or ‘toiletry items’. That ship has sailed, as evidenced by the fact that I’m sitting here doing a POST on the INTERNET about DEODORANT.

The thing about homemade deodorant is that a lot of people complain that it doesn’t work. And this recipe is not an antiperspirant – you’ll still sweat – but it is a deodorant – it won’t smell. I think that means it works for women, but probably not so much for men.

I used a recipe from a friend, but it’s similar to this recipe on Chocolate & Zucchini, with the addition of a bit of shea butter. I’m not sure what mine would do while traveling or if exposed to warm temperatures, but right now, it is very shelf-stable in my bathroom cabinet.

You can, of course, add any essential oil to scent your finished product. I chose orange, but I would definitely branch out in the future, perhaps doing some scent mixing or something.

Another tip: the recipe finishes with letting the deodorant cool and set at room temperature, but my friend recommended putting it in the freezer so that it cools quicker, preventing the contents from settling, just in case. I did this and it worked great.

So give that a go! Beeswax and shea butter are both readily available online at Amazon, if you have trouble locating them (for reasonable prices) locally.

Joshua says: nothing, as I didn’t make it for him.

Leave a Reply

