Zucchini, Quinoa, & Goat Cheese Tart

Do you own a tart pan? I’ve been looking for one at Marshall’s forever, because I refuse to pay out the nose for something so exclusive. Instead, I use my 9″ springform for just about everything. It’s similar to a tart pan, in that the bottom comes away from the sides, and it possesses also almost exactly the same area in square inches as an 8″ square baking dish, another thing I don’t own. A 9″ springform is a must-have. Especially if it’s non-stick. Put that on your registry list when you get married. I did.

This recipe hails from Aran Goyoaga‘s Small Plates & Sweet Treats. Aran is the author of the gorgeous food blog “cannelle et vanille“. She takes some of the prettiest pictures I’ve ever seen, and I follow her religiously, on the web, on Instagram, and on Twitter.

I also own her book, obviously. You should, too. I believe I’ve already referenced a recipe from it, and here I am with another. You need this book in your life, whether or not you’re gluten-free.

I did not have every single ingredient, so I adapted it. Plus, as I said, I made it in my 9″ springform, and she made hers in a 9” square or round tart mold. I think it work either way.

ZUCCHINI, QUINOA, & GOAT CHEESE TART

Adapted from Aran Goyoaga‘s Small Plates & Sweet Treats

Makes one 9″ tart

1 1/4 cups all-purpose (or all-purpose gluten-free) flour
1/3 cup almond meal
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup quinoa, rinsed
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
2 medium zucchini, grated
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 medium leeks, sliced thin
3 eggs
2 ounces sour cream
1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 ounces goat cheese, crumbled

Combine first four ingredients in a food processor. Pulse to aerate the ingredients.
With machine running, add the olive oil and 1/2 cup cold water, or as much liquid as needed for dough to come together.
Transfer dough to a work surface, knead it a couple of times, and press it into a disk. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate it for 30 minutes.
Butter or grease your 9″springform, if you’re nervous about things sticking. Press the dough onto the bottom and a little up the sides, piecing together any cracks (you can also roll out the dough and try placing it carefully in the pan, but mine didn’t hold up well enough to do that – could have been the gluten-free flour). Chill for 30 more minutes.
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place the tart on a baking sheet, add pie weights or dry beans and blind bake for 20 minutes. Remove the weights and bake for another 10 minutes. Let the crust cool while preparing filling.
Reduce oven heat to 350 degrees. In a small saucepan, combine the quinoa, 1/2 cup of water, and a pinch of salt. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat to low, cover, and cook for 15 minutes.
Place the grated zucchini in a bowl and add 1/2 teaspoon of the salt. Transfer to a colander set on top of a bowl and let macerate for 15 minutes. This will release some of the moisture from the zucchini. Discard the water collected in the bowl.
In a large saute pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the drained zucchini and leeks. Cook for about 5 minutes, until they soften. Add the cooked quinoa and stir. Remove from the heat and set aside.
In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, sour cream, remaining teaspoon of salt, lemon zest, and pepper.
Spread the zucchini mixture over the tart crust. Pour the custard over the vegetables – be careful not to overfill. [I accidentally overfilled mine, which resulted in an outer layer of cooked egg custard around part of my crust. Not cool.] Top with crumbled goat cheese.
Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until the custard sets. Let the tart cool for 15 minutes before cutting. Serve warm or at room temperature. The tart can be stored in the refrigerator for up to 3 days or frozen for up to 1 month.

Note: I totally forgot about the goat cheese, which I had specifically bought for this recipe. My tart had been in the oven for a few minutes when I suddenly remembered, and had to frantically pull it out and mush goat cheese crumbles onto it. Don’t be like me.

Joshua says: 9.5 out of 10, but secretly I think it was a bit lower than that. He wasn’t to into it, but it is, after all, a vegetable tart. What can we say? I brought a piece of it to a pregnant friend, and she enjoyed it so much she asked for the recipe. So maybe it’s more of a female dish. Make it for a ladies brunch or something. Sisters. Girlfriends.

3 thoughts on “Zucchini, Quinoa, & Goat Cheese Tart

  1. Pingback: Plum Crumble | Feeding Joshua

Leave a Reply

