Tomato Cobbler

I wouldn’t say I’m on a Joy the Baker “kick”, exactly, but when someone is putting out exciting recipes all the time, what can I say? I gravitate. Whoever thought of a savory cobbler, anyway?

This recipe is from last July, but Joy just posted a link to it in a recent post. That’s how I found out about it, as I haven’t been reading her blog that long.

It’s sweet cherry tomatoes and caramelized onions with savory biscuits on top! She uses bleu cheese, but I’m not a fan, so I did goat, instead.

The only problem I had was that it took a lot longer to cook, and my biscuit topping was still just on the edge of underdone. I don’t blame this on Joy the Baker, but on my gluten-free flour. I had to smash and compact the biscuits in my hand to get them to stay together, which shouldn’t be how a normal biscuit functions. If you make it with regular flour, you should be fine. Also, just as an aside, I saw this article this morning on pre-cooking your biscuits, so that the undersides cook fully. Bobby Flay does, sometimes, have some good things to tell us.

http://joythebaker.com/2012/07/summer-tomato-cobbler-with-blue-cheese-biscuits/

Joshua says: 8 out of 10, with special comments on how good my biscuits were, which is saying a lot (he’s a real Southerner). He didn’t appreciate the tomatoes, and would have preferred for the entire dish to be onions and biscuits (that’s not happening). I probably won’t make this again for him. I liked it, though!

Leave a Reply

