Lemon Ricotta Waffles

For those of you unaware, I’m a huge fan of citrus. Lemon, in particular. I like sour better than sweet. I think my enjoyment prioritizes citrus in the following order: lemons, limes, grapefruits, oranges. Although if we’re talking about freshly-squeezed grapefruit juice, it might get popped to the top.

Enough about my love for citrus. The thing I loved most about these waffles, from Joy the Baker, was the delicate lemon flavor throughout, which, I suppose, comes from rubbing the lemon zest and sugar together with your fingers before blending it into everything else. Nice touch! I also loved how the lemon really sang when you got a bit of lemon zest.

I know that a work morning can be a little rushed, so I mixed together the dry ingredients and wet ingredients the previous day and refrigerated the wet ingredients overnight. In the morning I dumped and waffled. It was quick, easy, and the waffles worked out great. This is a great tip for when you absolutely must have waffles and it’s only Tuesday. You absolutely cannot mix together the wet and dry and leave it overnight, unless you have a special recipe for that, because it throws off the leavening.

Make these!

http://joythebaker.com/2013/07/lemon-ricotta-waffles-with-poppy-seeds/

Joshua says: 10 out of 10. He even raved to his co-workers. (!)

Leave a Reply

