Kale Pesto

Let’s talk about kale. I find that people have a love/hate relationship with kale. You either absolutely love it, can’t get enough of it, think it’s the best green out there – like my mom – or you just can’t stand the vile, disgusting stuff, can’t get past that awful, metallic, bitter taste, and hate its guts (or ribs, rather).

Am I right?

I’m so right. But then again, I fall somewhere in between. I do NOT love kale. But I don’t hate it either (yes, I know I just totally contradicted myself). Basically, kale needs to be done right.

The key to eating foods you don’t like, especially when they’re exceptionally healthy and you know they’re good for you, is to mask the flavor. A great way to do that is with strong herbs, like rosemary and basil.

In this case, kale is ground to perfection with basil, making for some of the best pesto I’ve ever had, and you’d never guess kale was in there. The basil takes over, and the kale simply adds bulk. AND nutrients, but do we need to say that out loud?

I paired this with some leftover grilled chicken, and that was lovely. Sara Forte, from whose brilliant culinary brain this recipe springs, uses it on arugula and baby tomatoes. My sisters spread it on a pizza crust before topping with tomatoes and cheese. I plan to reuse it this weekend on meatballs. It will probably find its way onto one or more of Joshua’s lunchtime sandwiches. Feel empowered: there is nothing this pesto cannot do.

http://www.sproutedkitchen.com/home/2013/6/26/arugula-caprese-salad-with-kale-pesto.html

Joshua says: Joshua, as some of you may be able to tell by now, is not a man to sit at a table and eat pesto by the spoonful. However, he declared the chicken-pesto mixture an easy 10 out of 10, and I think that speaks volumes about this pesto.

2 thoughts on “Kale Pesto

  1. Pingback: Jalapeno Black Bean Quinoa Burgers | Feeding Joshua

  2. Pingback: Veggie (Beet) Burgers | Feeding Joshua

Leave a Reply

