Crunchy Top Coconut Banana Muffins

When is the last time you had a muffin? Are you a muffin person? I’m not – I don’t really do carbs. My body doesn’t handle those well. However, the occasional really great carb does find its way into my system. I mostly go for pastries and stuff like that, but since it’s ridiculously hard to get those gluten-free (unless you live in or around Asheville…! but don’t get me started.), I generally don’t.

I first happened upon Cook Republic, a blog by a woman named Sneh…rabbit trail here, but can we take a moment to reflect on what a cool name Sneh is? Did her parents make that up? Who thinks of stuff like that?

Anyway, so I first happened upon Cook Republic when these muffins were the home page, the most recent post. I was immediately taken. Crunchy top anything is basically where I’m at.

They were absolutely marvelous, and you must make them. I do love the fact that Sneh balanced the moisture (SIX BANANAS!??!) with the coconut flour, which is notoriously dry and hard to use, but apparently has great health benefits.

I will say that I think my muffins turned out even better than hers (or looked better, I should say), probably because I used a gluten-free all-purpose flour in place of the wholemeal spelt (which is not gluten-free). My tops actually *rose*, and the muffins had greater aesthetic appeal. I served them at a Bible study in our home, and there was a lone half left when everyone had gone. Do make.

http://www.cookrepublic.com/baking-recipes/crunchy-top-coconut-banana-muffins/

Joshua says: 9.5 out of 10, because “gluten-free flour gets grainy when it’s not hot, period.” I just said the whole study group loved them, so you can pick and choose who you want to believe about these. Of course, no one got to taste one fresh out of the oven, like I did… <swoon> Perhaps next time, some chocolate chips?

One thought on “Crunchy Top Coconut Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

