Grilled Asparagus & Creamy Lemon Quinoa

Did you know that the French say that the stronger your urine smells after eating asparagus, the smarter you are?

Well, that’s what I’d always heard, anyway. I can find no evidence to support that. If there are any French readers out there, please confirm or deny. 😉

Back to the recipe: this is a super-easy, absolutely fabulous spring recipe you simply must keep in your repertoire. David & Luise grilled their asparagus on a grill or griddle pan, but since I own neither, I roasted mine for about 10 minutes at 425 degrees, with just a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper. Because I roasted my red pepper on the same pan previously (at the same temperature, for about 12 minutes, with olive oil, salt, pepper, and ground coriander seed), the asparagus caught some of the blackened residue, and the flavor was spot on.

Although there is nothing in the recipe to render the quinoa creamy, it does actually end up with quite a creamy consistency, which is exceptionally pleasing, and goes very well with the asparagus. Instead of using crushed cumin seeds, I used ground coriander seeds in my dressing, as I wasn’t feeling in a cumin mood. Do as you like.

http://www.greenkitchenstories.com/walking-on-new-roads/

Joshua says: 10 out of 10! For a purely vegetarian meal with not a hint of meat or fish or anything of the sort! Of course, quinoa is a complete protein, AND my husband is an easy man to cook for. I hope you are similarly blessed. If not, make the quinoa and pop it into the refrigerator and roast yourself some asparagus each day for lunch. You could probably get four meals out of this if you did that… #somethingtotry

Leave a Reply

