Sparkling Lemon Ginger Cooler

Apparently, it is not warm in some parts of the country/planet. Here in Charlotte, NC, though, we’ve had 90-degree days, and we’ve just now hit July, which is sure to bring us even closer to (if not top) 100. We definitely need coolers.

If you’re in the same boat, might I suggest giving this a try?

I know, I know. It’s kind of a pain to make your own flavored simple syrup. I’ll agree with you on that one, but we all know it’s worth it, every now and then. In this case, it is. The punch of spicy ginger paired with sour lemon and sweet sugar – very nice combination. I’m pretty sure anything you could buy would use ominous words like “natural ginger flavor” and “lemon peel extract”. I mean, why not just go ahead and do the real thing? It took me all of five minutes to peel and finely chop the ginger, zest the lemon, and boil this. Then it sat and cooled for about 30 (that’s zero work for me). And then I just strained it into a jar and popped it into the fridge. Done. I don’t know what all that business about straining it twice was…but I didn’t do that, and mine is clear as a bell.

As for the cooler itself, I think the ratios are off. Use less syrup, more lemon, and go with the original thought of vodka and club soda to cut the sweetness even more. That’s my take on it. If you have more of a sweet tooth, you will probably enjoy the drink as is. Joshua and I were using Prosecco, so we just added more of it to our syrup to thin out the cloying properties. This worked ok.

http://www.creative-culinary.com/sparkling-lemon-ginger-cooler/

Joshua says: 10 out of 10. We would both rate it a 10, but only if you play with the ratios to get the taste you enjoy. It’s a very user-discretion-friendly recipe. We found our perfect “sweet spot” pretty easily, so we rate it a 10. We hope you find yours. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Sparkling Lemon Ginger Cooler

  1. I’m chuckling…a bit. Between you and me? I added more lemon but my daughter liked it as is so I went with her mix. Good thing I upped the ginger and lemon in the syrup huh?

    My prosecco was pretty dry so I didn’t notice it cloyingly sweet but in the long run; you are so right…everyone has to find their sweet (or not so sweet) spot. Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

