Bowties with Sugar Snaps, Lemon, & Ricotta

I know a family who seems to believe that the shape of the pasta changes its taste. I mean, naturally, some pasta shapes will hold onto sauce differently than others and change the experience of the finished dish. But this family always makes it sound like the pasta itself is a HUGE difference. Penne instead of spaghetti!?!? You wouldn’t believe the apologies offered around the table for the change in pasta. It’s rather inexplicable to me.

All that to say that I used penne instead of bowties here. I don’t keep bowties on hand, mostly because I cook with gluten-free pasta, and I’ve never seen gluten-free bowties. I’m pretty positive the dish turned out the way it was supposed to.

I will say a few things about it: first, this is obviously supposed to be served fresh and immediately, per Deb‘s suggestions as to the addition of the lemon, and its discoloration of the vegetables. Unfortunately, I was unable to do so, and made it on Friday for Saturday night’s dinner. I would have preferred fresh.

Also, gluten-free pasta has issues when cooked in advance. If cooked to a good consistency, it hardens in the refrigerator, and the texture is pretty awful the following day(s). But if you want to cook the pasta in advance, you need to cook it a little past al dente, and this causes the noodles to break down a little.

Basically, what I’m saying is that this dish was not pretty at all, and that’s my bad, because Deb specifically warns about serving soon upon finishing. So let me second that – don’t make the same mistake I did.

Taste-wise, it was really good! Love that ricotta!

http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2013/06/bowties-with-sugar-snaps-lemon-and-ricotta/

Joshua says: 10 out of 10, believe it or not! He does love his comfort food. I, obviously, would rate it a little lower than that, but like I said earlier, if we’re only talking about taste, it really was delicious.

Leave a Reply

