Baked Polenta

For me, comfort food never goes out of season. And when my husband and I cook dinner together on Sunday, I do find myself gravitating toward something in the general realm of comfort food, because those are some of his favorites. Not that he has favorites.

This week, we did Spoon Fork Bacon‘s Baked Polenta. Their logo is a pig. With a spoon and a fork. For someone who doesn’t eat pork (me), you may find it surprising that I even checked out their blog, but I was referred there by someone else I trust (I really don’t remember who). Turns out they don’t just do bacon.

I will say that we switched up this recipe quite a bit. For the Italian sausage, I used my favorite go-to, Trader Joe’s chicken sausage (we did the jalapeno flavor). I had no mushrooms on hand, and I wasn’t taking another run to the store, so I diced up the bag of radishes that were camping out in the bottom of my refrigerator. Good stuff! I’d do that again!

And, to top it off, we used feta instead of goat cheese. I don’t normally keep soft cheeses on hand, as they go bad relatively quickly. Joshua and I don’t eat cheese often enough to prevent this (under duress! love love love cheese!).

What a great recipe! It was delicious! And, because of the cooking methods, very simple and easy to clean up. Definitely making this again.

Baked Polenta

Joshua says: 10 out of 10!!!!!! He compared it to shrimp and grits (but we don’t eat shrimp anymore, so that’s a thing of the past), which is apparently a warm and nostalgic memory for him. He loved it. He said he wished he had the time and stomach space to consume more. Always a good sign.

Leave a Reply

