Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

My job: bake brown butter chocolate chip cookies.
Joshua’s job: tell me they are absolutely delicious.
Checkmark.

Prior to the beginning of this month, I did not know that Joy the Baker existed. Perhaps some of you are gasping in dismay (her blog is one of the top 50 cooking blogs in the world, so…), perhaps some of you are a bit confused…who is she, anyway? Well, she came up with these cookies, and that should be enough.

But beyond that, Joy the Baker is a real, live person, with a real, genuine story. She writes a cooking blog, she has put out a cookbook, and she also produces a podcast. Her get-to-know-me movie uses Ingrid Michaelson for a soundtrack, so I know she’s a kindred spirit. Joy the Baker has become one of those people I’d like to meet in person one day, along with a handful of other food people. Like Hugh & Sara, David & Luise & Elsa, and Adam Rapoport and Andrew Knowlton. And Sara Kate Gillingham-Ryan. Actually, the list is getting longer as I think about it…

ANYWAY. That wasn’t the point of this post. The point is the cookies, which were to-die-for. You will love them, and they are seriously probably the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever had in my entire life, and I have had many. I will say that I lightened the recipe up a bit by using coconut oil in the batter itself and real butter for the browning, per the suggestion of my little sister, who sometimes has wisdom beyond her years.

The coconut oil caused them to spread out more than intended, but it was ok with me. I also didn’t have any molasses, so I used finely, finely ground espresso powder instead, which I have heard (and experienced) brings out the chocolate flavors.

The cookies, as per Joy’s comments, are definitely best pretty much straight out of the oven.

http://joythebaker.com/2013/06/brown-butter-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Joshua says: 10 out of 10, when I brought him one from the third floor of our apartment building, still ever-so-slightly warm, the chocolate chips soft and a little melty, on our way to dinner, when he was starving. The next day, when I carefully packed one with his work lunch, he said they were a bit grainy.

NOTE: I did make them with gluten-free flour, so that may explain the graininess.

Leave a Reply

