Vegan Vanilla Almond Sandies

This past weekend, Joshua took me to beautiful Beaufort, SC for my birthday. This is the first time I had ever visited Beaufort and, for some reason, I was under the impression that there was a beach there, upon which we would be romantically sitting, side by side, throughout most of Saturday morning. Hence, I cooked up these little “beach cookies”, as I called them, because they highlight the texture and look of sand on a beach. <chuckle> Ingenious.

These cookies do happen to be vegan, and I made them with coconut oil instead of Earth Balance or vegan margarine, and they were delightful – just a hint of that coconut-y flavor, but with an allover buttery feel.  I’m sure using real butter would work wonders in this recipe, as well, but I wanted to make something I didn’t feel would have to be refrigerated. So I went the vegan route. Do what you want to do. I will say that the coconut oil may have been a bit softer than the Earth Balance, as I found just a little bit tricky to keep the roll in shape, and the cookies spread a lot while baking. Perhaps a stint in the refrigerator would be a good idea next time. And there WILL be a next time.

I did not have any almond extract on hand so I replaced that with RUM. It was incredible, of course.

http://www.thekitchn.com/simple-cookie-recipe-vegan-van-150490

Joshua says: 10 out of 10. I think he actually interrupted himself to make some sort of complimentary exclamation.

One thought on “Vegan Vanilla Almond Sandies

  1. Pingback: spelt oat date banana bread | Feeding Joshua

Leave a Reply

