Ricotta Gnudi

Gnudi are similar to gnocchi, but made almost entirely of cheese. If that doesn’t get your attention, I don’t know what will.

But then, I’m a cheese fanatic.

This was a recipe from Bon Appetit that I’d been waiting a while to try. Joshua and I just decided recently to cook together on Sunday evenings, and last night was our first one. I wasn’t sure how the gnudi would go over with him, because he has told me in the past that ricotta cheese is not one of his favorite ingredients, and he doesn’t much care for a mouthful of the stuff.

You can imagine, I’m sure, what sacrilege this sounded like to an Italian.

However, he graciously agreed to try the gnudi with me, and even stood at our counter with two spoons, patiently forming cheesy footballs for me to plop into the boiling water.

I did not read the comments on the recipe until today, and was surprised to see so many about adding lots and lots of extra flour, as well as others about how the recipe was a complete flop. I did use gluten-free flour, like one of the BA readers, and mine were quite perfect. I used only the amount directed. Perhaps the recipe does not work so well with regular flour? I have not experimented, but do warn me if such is the case.

The dumplings are soft, of course, when finished, but I did not find that they tasted raw or were gummy at all. Make sure your water is at a steady, rolling boil – you don’t want the cold cheese to stop the boil, because then you’re basically throwing cheese in still water. Yuck. I did not make the pomodoro sauce they link, and just used regular marinara from a jar. Totally fine and tasty.

Here’s the recipe!

http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2013/02/ricotta-gnudi-with-pomodoro-sauce

Joshua says: 8.5 out of 10. He kept mentioning something “bitter” in the sauce? I could taste no such thing, so I’m not sure what that was all about. The gnudi were tested by their lonesome and found to be sound; I think they get a quasi stamp of approval.

Leave a Reply

