Japanese Vegetable Pancakes

About two weeks ago, I received an email from Tasting Table about okonomiyaki – Japanese vegetables pancakes. “The Japanese take on a latke,” they proclaimed. I was mildly interested enough to follow the link and view the recipe, but the picture was unappetizing, and the outlandish ingredients (kewpie mayonnaise, anyone? furikake seasoning??) clinched it, and I deleted the email and moved on.

Then, just a few days later, I received an email from Smitten Kitchen about Japanese vegetable pancakes. Something about that title rang a vague bell, and sure enough, after reading Deb‘s engaging article, I realized that we are both on the Tasting Table email list.

I have to insert here that Tasting Table should have paid Deb to take the pictures for this recipe, because as soon as I saw her picture, I knew I was going to make it. We eat with our eyes first.

I pretty much made it as she has it, although I substituted other mixed greens, finely chopped, which I had on hand, instead of kale. I also skipped the sauce, and served the stack with a fried egg perched on top of it like a leaning tower of Tokyo sunshine. I also stuck a link of jalapeno chicken sausage on the side. Joshua says it’s amazing when meat can be a side item.

This has got to be one of the easiest recipes I’ve tried in a while, and with SUCH good results! I love the freedom of throwing any vegetable you want into the mix, covering it with flour (I used gluten-free all-purpose) and egg, and making pancakes. This idea is similar to the Italian frittata, something with which my family and I are very familiar. I highly recommend keeping this recipe in your repertoire. What an easy meal, and what flavor.

Here’s the recipe!

http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2013/05/japanese-cabbage-and-vegetable-pancakes/

Joshua says: 10.5 out of 10. We devoured these things. It’s a wonder there were any left, but there were plenty, because they are actually quite filling! And they’re pretty much just vegetables, which is totally cool. So many omnivores think vegetables can’t fill you up, but they certainly can. Yum.

Leave a Reply

