Gluten-Free Pizza with Cauliflower Crust

I think using cauliflower to make pizza crust is a new fad in the food world. I’m not a big fad person; I like to be unique and do my own thing, but hey. As some say down here in the South, “If it ain’t broke…”

Nothing new here – I saw a recipe from NatureBox for Margherita Pizza with Cauliflower Crust, and thought I’d give it a go. I do think the name is a bit of a misnomer, as I am firmly under the impression that margherita pizza does not use sauce, but I went along with it, all the same.

I made the recipe as is, with the exception that I went ahead and weighed my cauliflower, and I don’t know what runts the NatureBox people are using, but I would say that a scant one-third of my cauliflower head came in at 12 ounces. So I went ahead and “riced” the rest, weighed out the appropriate amounts, and froze for a later pizza. I would recommend weighing, if at all possible, as cauliflower heads obviously come in many different sizes.

After mixing up the crust ingredients, I thought things looked a little loose, and not like they would stay together, so I added an extra egg. I may have been wrong about this, because my pizza oozed beautiful pools of yellow egg liquid during the cooking process, so maybe the extra egg wasn’t necessary. I did like the texture at the end, though, so I’ll probably do the same thing next time.

My mom, who also eats gluten-free, goes for a really crispy crust on her pizza, which makes it virtually impossible to find a good gluten-free recipe. This recipe would not have worked for her, I’m afraid. Perhaps there’s a way to crisp up the bottom, but I haven’t found it yet. However, I really enjoyed the overall taste, texture, and satisfaction factor here. I will definitely be making it again.

Here’s the recipe!

http://blog.naturebox.com/post/50042319935/margherita-pizza-with-cauliflower-crust

Joshua says: 8 out of 10. I warned him that it wouldn’t hold a candle to a glutinous pizza, and he did take that into consideration. However, he would have liked more fresh tomatoes in the topping (I’m a plain cheese girl, but to each their own) and the cheese could have been melted a bit more than I allowed (my bad! I was starving!).

P.S. – I tried a month of NatureBox’s healthy snacks delivered right to your door, and it was quite cool. The caveat, which they don’t tell you, is that many, many of their snacks are not gluten-free. So out of the five we received last month, I was able to eat one, and it was an Indian spiced trail mix. Not something I want to pick up every afternoon. Joshua has really enjoyed the other snacks, though, which included Italian Bistro Pretzel bites, Banana Bread Granola, and Raspberry Fig Bars.

One thought on “Gluten-Free Pizza with Cauliflower Crust

Leave a Reply

