Savory Waffles with Chicken Sausage & Apricot Salsa

When I was young, sometimes my dad would be gone for a night or a dinner. It was rare, because he made meals together as a family a priority. But every now and then, it happened. To make up for the fact that our dad was gone that night, my mom would make breakfast for dinner. I think she capitalized on this opportunity to give us a treat, while at the same time save herself the time and energy it takes to make a big, meat-and-potatoes dinner, which we youngsters certainly didn’t need.

I see savory waffles as a nice in-between. It’s not exactly breakfast for dinner, because I don’t normally put sun-dried-tomato-basil chicken sausage and feta cheese on my waffles in the morning, but a waffle will always conjure up the image of the perfect, relaxed, weekend breakfast/brunch. Maybe for other people that image is eggs. For me, it’s waffles.

I used this post from Love & Lemons as a springboard, and did, in fact, follow her waffle recipe to the letter – it was delightful. I did not put in the chili powder, because I suspected we would have leftovers, and I wanted to cover them in strawberries and syrup and serve them for breakfast the following morning. This I did.

Instead of a fried egg, I used chicken sausage and feta cheese, but a fried egg would be a lovely topping. Perhaps next time I will try it.

SAVORY WAFFLES WITH CHICKEN SAUSAGE & APRICOT SALSA

Serves 2

3 fresh, ripe apricots, diced
1 small, ripe avocado, diced
1 jalapeño, thinly sliced and pickled in apple cider vinegar for at least 30 minutes or overnight
Juice of a large lemon half
Sprinkle of paprika
Pinch of cayenne pepper
Pinch of salt
1 cup all-purpose flour (I used a gluten-free all-purpose)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup almond milk
1 egg
3 tablespoons melted coconut oil or butter
2 links chicken sausage, sliced on the diagonal
1/4 cup feta cheese

Combine apricot and next six ingredients in a small bowl. Set aside.

Preheat your waffle iron. I have a small, round, non-Belgian one, and it made five waffles.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt in a medium mixing bowl. Whisk together almond milk, egg, and melted oil or butter in another bowl. Add to dry ingredients, mix to combine, and immediately start ladling into hot waffle iron.

While the waffles are cooking, brown sausage slices in a small skillet. Remove from heat when the sausage is heated through and browned to your liking.

To assemble, top each waffle with a bit of butter, a couple of spoonfuls of salsa, a few sausage slices, and a sprinkling of feta cheese. If you have a handful of cilantro to throw on top, that would be even better.

Joshua says: 10 out of 10. This was a home run. He even took seconds, and he was very admiring of the homemade waffles, which, as you can see, were incredibly easy to make. It can sometimes be simple to look so impressive.

Leave a Reply

