Sandwich #1

There is no perfect sandwich. We live in a world where variety is the spice of life, and no one thing speaks to every person. So that’s why there’s a #1 in the title of this post, because I’m sure there will be many more to come. But when my husband says good things about a sandwich, I like to write it down so I remember what I did right. 🙂

Sandwiches should be simple. If a sandwich uses a cooked ingredient, I tend to think it’s too opulent. Sometimes this is warranted. Sometimes an occasion demands a sandwich to end all sandwiches.

But if we’re talking about lunch, especially on a weekend, there’s no reason for this.

Here’s what I did for Joshua yesterday:

Homemade challah bread (maybe I’ll share that recipe, but then again, maybe not)
+ Lusty Monk “Altar Boy” Honey Mustard
+ medium-sliced Boarshead maple & honey smoked turkey
+ greens, like spinach and arugula and maybe some radicchio
+ homemade Strawberry Balsamic Black Pepper Jam
+ homemade challah bread. Toasted.

Joshua says: 9.4 out of 10. He said it was a perfect ten when paired with a thick slice of creamy Havarti cheese, but I have a policy about pairing poultry and/or meat with cheese on a sandwich. I serve cheese on the side, but I don’t like to put it on the sandwich. If you don’t have such scruples, some Havarti apparently goes a long way. He gave me extra points for creativity. 😉

Leave a Reply

