Strawberry Balsamic Black Pepper Jam

Individually, each of those ingredients sound good. Strawberries are well in season, which means Costco has large, plastic clamshells of them looking like they were grown on steroids, which they probably were. Balsamic vinegar is a taste of my family’s home, where our Italian roots, though small in percentage, formed the base of our culinary experiences. And black pepper will always remind me of my sister, who went through a phase where she put black pepper on literally everything (and I mean that “literally” literally). One of her favorite combinations was black pepper and honey. But I digress.

I forgot that one of the blogs I also follow is honey & jam, beautifully produced and photographed by Hannah Queen. She recently put out a post on this jam, which I thought sounded lovely. I promptly bought those huge strawberries from Costco (please DON’T tell me how we shouldn’t buy berries from Costco because they use pesticides or anything like that; I prefer my blissful ignorance), and yesterday, made the jam. It was easy, relatively quick, and has turned out deliciously.

I cut the sugar down to 2 cups, instead of 3, because I don’t like things super-sweet. Perhaps I could have even gone down to 1 or 1.5, but that will be for another time.

Here’s the link!

http://www.honeyandjam.com/2013/05/appalachian-spring-strawberry-balsamic.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+honeyandjam%2Fkutd+%28honey+%26+jam%29

Joshua says: 10 out of 10. He was very happy. I asked if it was spicy, and he seemed confused, and asked if it was supposed to be. But this morning, when we had it on toast, he made a loud exclamation when he hit a pepper pocket. Score.

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Balsamic Black Pepper Jam

  1. Pingback: Sandwich #1 | Feeding Joshua

  2. Pingback: Essential Raised Waffles | Feeding Joshua

  3. Pingback: Fat Almond Pancake | Feeding Joshua

Leave a Reply

