Raw Buckwheat Porridge De Luxe

My husband will turn 30 next year, and he’s not into the big, manly breakfasts. A few of those and he would weigh forty pounds more than he does right now. In fact, he’s not a huge eater in general, which is kind to me and to our grocery budget. It does leave the question, though…what do we have for breakfast?

Because I can assure you we aren’t eating Cranberry Orange Scones every day.

I’ll pull out the occasional toasted oats with raisins and a sprinkle of cinnamon. I can fry an egg. I love a good bowl of steel-cut oatmeal in the winter. I do prefer my grains whole, if at all possible, which is why I don’t like to just stick a cereal box on the table every morning.

This is when I discovered Green Kitchen Stories‘ recipe for raw buckwheat porridge. It has changed my life! Admittedly, it’s not for everyone. My sister adores it, but her husband can’t stand the stuff. He’s much more a man’s man.

The porridge is served raw and cold, which makes it perfect for the warmer months, in my opinion. It’s also quite versatile.

David and Luise (at Green Kitchen Stories) recommend exotic toppings like bee pollen and pomegranate seeds and coconut flakes, but I find these difficult to find and afford. Joshua and I like to enjoy our porridge with the following topping variations:

  • Strawberries, yogurt, and flaxseeds.
  • Blueberries, a tablespoon of lemon curd, and chia seeds.
  • Yogurt and pecans.
  • Banana slices, cacao nibs, and some peanut butter if we want extra protein.

I have also tried switching out the whole grain (they use buckwheat, obviously) and/or the nut (they use walnuts). I’ve tried many variations, including millet, steel-cut oats, pecans, cashews, and pistachios. Cooked buckwheat has a very froward taste, which some find rather unpleasant, but the raw buckwheat is a different story. I find that I can’t even tell I’m eating buckwheat at all. I highly recommend the recipe.

Here’s the link!

http://www.greenkitchenstories.com/raw-buckwheat-walnut-porridge/

Joshua says: 10.9 out of 10, depending on the toppings. He’s a huge fan of strawberries, and he went crazy over the banana one, because it felt like having an ice cream sundae for breakfast. He feels that the porridge works best with stronger flavors. Blueberries, he avers, were not enough.

2 thoughts on “Raw Buckwheat Porridge De Luxe

  1. Pingback: morning routine | with this ring

  2. Pingback: Morning Glory Oats | Feeding Joshua

Leave a Reply

