Fried Chicken Sandwiches with Slaw & Spicy Mayo

To kick things off, I have to tell you about the amazing fried chicken sandwich I made my husband for his birthday.

First thing you need to know about me – I don’t fry. I’m idiotically petrified of spattering oil, and I don’t react well to sudden loud noises, like the popping and crackling that comes from fried things. Before I was married, my sister would do the frying, looking like the calm and collected pro she is. So this chicken was my first foray into fried food since my wedding.

They were totally awesome. We may make this a birthday tradition. I tried to make them exactly as Bon Appetit wrote, per my husband’s desire. The only thing I changed was the Louisiana-style hot pepper sauce, for which I substituted a bit of cayenne pepper and a dash of paprika, for color. Who has Louisiana-style hot pepper sauce on hand? Not I.

Here’s the recipe!

http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2013/04/fried-chicken-sandwiches-with-slaw-and-spicy-mayo

Joshua says: 9 out of 10. The chicken, he declares, would be a full 10, at least. Maybe more like 15. But he found the sandwich a bit dry. This, I believe, is due to the fact that there is very little moisture in the slaw, but it breaks down and self-dresses over time. In the future, I will make the slaw the previous day (Joshua said it was much better Day 2). I’ll also put extra spicy mayo on the sandwich itself.

2 thoughts on “Fried Chicken Sandwiches with Slaw & Spicy Mayo

  1. Pingback: Baked Herb & Pistachio Falafel | Feeding Joshua

  2. Pingback: triple digits | with this ring

Leave a Reply

