Plum Crumble

I kept telling everyone this was a crumble, but I don’t know where I got that. They were actually termed “bars” by the original recipe, but I think I used the term “crumble” to make myself feel better for eating it for breakfast.

There was this recipe, from White on Rice Couple, for Fresh Apricot Bars. They told a sweet story about apricots from a farmer’s market, and how they needed to use them up, and how these bars helped them do that. Hence, when I found myself with plums from a farmer’s market on hand, which needed to be used up, I followed their example.

I don’t own a baking dish that size, so I used my handy-dandy 9″ springform, whose praises I have already sung at length. This round shape also helped create the illusion I was  making a breakfast item, rather than a dessert.

Here’s a note to the novices: I cooked down my plums with a bit of sugar, like they did, but when it had cooled and been food processed, it turned into plum soup. This would have drowned my adorable oat crust and probably flopped. If such a thing should happen to you, don’t despair! Simply return your pot of fruit soup to the stovetop and cook it down a bit more. Let it bubble away until it is just shy of the consistency you desire, because it will thicken more as it cools. You can also whisk in some starch to help, if you want.

It was really, really good. Let’s do this with every fruit that needs to be used up. What could go wrong?

http://whiteonricecouple.com/recipes/apricot-bars/

Joshua says: 10 out of 10, and declared he could eat the whole pan, but probably shouldn’t.

3 thoughts on “Plum Crumble

Leave a Reply

